Media Centre

ACRAS 2023 AnnouncedApril 2023
Fresh look and major new awards announced for 2023 ACRAS

Monday 17th April 2023

The 34th annual Australian Commercial Radio and Audio Awards (the ACRAs) will feature major new awards including Station of the Year, Individual Talent of the Year, Australian Music Champion and Podcast of the Year, organiser Commercial Radio and Audio announced today.

The red-carpet event, which celebrates excellence in commercial radio broadcasting and audio across entertainment, news, talk and sport, will be held at the International Convention Centre at Darling Harbour on Saturday, October 14.

“We are thrilled to be hosting radio’s night of nights, with refreshed awards which reflect the exciting changes taking place across commercial radio and audio,” said Ford Ennals, chief executive officer of CRA.

“The 2023 ACRAs are slimmed down and sharpened up, with new awards recognising radio station creativity and innovation, expanded awards to acknowledge the amazing work taking place in the podcasting field, as well as the importance of diversity and inclusion.”

"CRA is also introducing a new award recognising a champion of Australian music as well as an award for Outstanding Contribution to Radio, nicknamed “the Brenno” after radio legend John Brennan who was well-known for nurturing young talent and leading stations to number one.

“We look forward to making this a fantastic celebration of the best of radio and audio from across the country.”

The Best News Presenter FM Award is being named after the late smoothfm host Glenn Daniel, in recognition of his 40-year career in broadcast journalism.
Around 900 of the industry’s major stars, personalities and executives from around Australia are
expected to attend this year’s event.

Major new awards for 2023 include:
  • Station of the Year - for a station that displays innovation and takes creative risks in their on-air content, supports their listeners and delivers across all aspects of the creative and communications mix.
  • Podcast of the Year – for the podcast that has demonstrated excellence, creativity and impact.
  • Podcast Host of the Year – recognising the entertainment or informative value of the host or hosts and their ability to communicate and engage with guests and each other.
  • Individual Talent of the Year - for an individual performer, whether a solo host or part of a team, who demonstrates a strong rapport with the audience and has an interesting and engaging presenting style.
  • Outstanding Contribution to Radio “the Brenno” - recognises an individual who influences and enhances the way the industry broadcasts and operates.
  • Diversity and Inclusion - for a company that has championed diverse and marginalised groups in their organisation and put in place initiatives that advance equity and support inclusion and belonging.
  • Australian Music Champion – for an individual or show that has championed Australian music.
  • Most Played New Australian Song on Commercial Radio
  • Most Played New Song on Commercial Radio
  • Best News Event Coverage – best coverage of a national, international, state or local news event.
A highlight of the ACRAs is the Hall of Fame, recognising outstanding lifetime contribution to radio.
Last year’s inductees were KIIS 106.5’s Kyle Sandilands and Jackie “O” Henderson, who were also crowned Best On-Air Team (FM).

This year awards will be handed out across eight categories, with 77 awards overall, down from 86 in 2022.
Winners will be announced across four areas: national, metropolitan, provincial and country.

Entries for the ACRAS are open to 260 metropolitan and regional commercial radio stations who are CRA members across Australia. The awards are peer judged by panels of industry and specialist representatives.

Entries for the awards open today and close on 30 June 2023. To enter go to