Media Centre

Australian Radio Awards to be held in SydneyMarch 2012

Entries are open for this year’s Australian Commercial Radio Awards (ACRAs), which will be held at the Sydney Convention and Exhibition Centre on October 13.

The 24th annual event has become a highlight of the radio industry’s yearly calendar with the Awards attracting the industry’s stars, personalities and media executives from around Australia. Chief executive officer of Commercial Radio Australia, Joan Warner said it was always great to hold the event in Sydney.

“Sydney is a great place to hold the ACRAs and represents a very strong and vibrant market for commercial radio,” Ms Warner said.

Organised by Commercial Radio Australia, on behalf of the radio industry, the national Awards include 33 categories, which cover all areas of radio broadcasting including news, talk, sport, music and entertainment. The ACRAs differ from television’s Logie Awards, in that they are peer judged with judging panels comprised of industry members. Winners are announced in each category across three areas: metropolitan, provincial and country commercial radio stations.

Winners from last year’s Awards include Southern Cross Austereo’s Kyle and Jackie O; Fox FM’s comic duo, Hamish and Andy and 3AW’s Derryn Hinch.

Ms Warner said a feature of the Awards is the Hall of Fame, which acknowledges a lifelong commitment to the Australian radio industry. Last year’s inductee was Tony Pilkington, best known as “Pilko”, in the iconic on-air team, Bazz & Pilko. Previous inductees have included Derryn Hinch, Neil Mitchell, Frank Hyde, Rod Muir, John Laws, Bob Rogers and Paul Thompson. Hall of Fame recipients are nominated by industry colleagues and decided by a high level judging committee.

Entries for this year’s Awards close on Friday May 25.

Information about entering the Awards, categories and conditions of entry can be found at a website for the Awards: