Media Centre

Brian White award winner takes up international fellowship exchangeMarch 2014

Southern Cross Austereo, Sydney News Director, Deborah Clay will travel to Singapore tomorrow to take up her week long fellowship exchange at MediaCorp, the prize for winning the 2013 Brian White Award at the annual Australian Commercial Radio Awards (ACRAs).

The Brian White Award, named after the legendary Australian commercial radio newsman, Brian White, who was commercial radio’s first cadet journalist, recognises journalistic achievement and effort in all aspects of radio journalism.

Ms Clay the winner of the 2013 award will spend a week at MediaCorp, the leading radio broadcaster in Singapore operating 13 FM stations, which broadcast in four different languages offering news, sports, information, music and entertainment for a variety of cultural backgrounds.

Ms Clay said: “I’m excited about this opportunity and interested in finding out about how a premiere station in another country approaches news. Plus I would also like to understand more about the operational aspects of their newsroom and any innovations and cutting edge methods of reporting.”

Commercial Radio Australia, chief executive officer, Joan Warner said: “The Brian White Award has long been considered one of the most prestigious awards at the ACRAs and the Mediacorp prize element further adds to the status of the Award".

In addition, the CRA and MediaCorp arrangement allows for a MediaCorp nominated candidate from Singapore to spend a week at an Australian Commercial Radio station. A MediaCorp representative will spend a week at Southern Cross Austereo in Sydney in May.

Entries for this year’s ACRAs close on the 23 May 2014 and winners will be announced at the 26th Australian Commercial Radio Awards (ACRAs), to be held at the Melbourne Convention and Exhibition Centre on 18 October. The annual event is a highlight of the radio industry’s yearly calendar with the Awards attracting the industry’s stars, personalities and media executives from around Australia.

Organised by Commercial Radio Australia, on behalf of the radio industry, the national Awards include 34 categories, which cover all areas of radio broadcasting including news, talk, sport, music and entertainment. The ACRAs differ from television’s Logie Awards, in that they are peer judged with judging panels comprised of industry members. Winners are announced in each category across three areas: metropolitan, provincial and country commercial radio stations.