Media Centre

Finalists announced for 2012 Radio AwardsAugust 2012
The big names of metropolitan FM radio will battle it out for Best FM On-Air Team at this year’s 24th annual Australian Commercial Radio Awards (ACRAs), with all finalists announced today. Finalists in the Best FM On-Air Team Metropolitan FM category are; The Kyle and Jackie O Show (2Day FM Sydney), Jonesy and Amanda (WSFM, Sydney), Fitzy and Wippa (Nova, Sydney) and The Grill Team (Gus Worland, Mark Geyer and Matty Johns, Triple M, Sydney). Kyle and Jackie O took out the Award last year. The Metropolitan AM finalists for Best On-Air Team Metropolitan are Weekend Detention Summer Edition (2GB Sydney), 3AW Breakfast (3AW, Melbourne), 2GB Continuous Call Team, (2GB Sydney) and 3AW Sports Today (3AW Melbourne. 3AW Breakfast won this category last year. Ray Hadley (2GB Sydney) is a finalist in this year’s Best Talk Presenter and Best Current Affairs Presenter categories. Other finalists in Best Talk Presenter are Paul Murray (2UE Sydney), John Stanley (2UE, Sydney) and Neil Mitchell (3AW Melbourne). Neil is also a finalist in Best Current Affairs category along with Ray, Derryn Hinch (3AW Melbourne) and Spoonman – Brian Carlton (Triple M, Sydney). Best Newcomer On-Air will be contested between Matty Johns (Triple M Sydney), Dave Gleeson (Triple M Adelaide), Yumi Stynes (Mix Network Sydney) and Ella Hooper (Fox FM Melbourne). Finalists in the digital radio category, Best Digital Radio Format Long-term, include Koffee (DMG), Radar Radio (Southern Cross Austereo) and Chemist Warehouse Mix 90s (ARN). Finalists in the Best Digital Radio Format Short-term include Cold Chisel Radio (Grant Broadcasters) and Elf Radio (Australian Radio Network). Chief executive officer of Commercial Radio Australia, Joan Warner said the ACRAs continues to attract a record number of entries from metropolitan, regional and country radio stations across Australia. The winners will be announced at a gala event at the Sydney Convention and Exhibition Centre on October 13. “The ACRAs are a major highlight for the radio industry and we look forward to the event which is back in Sydney this year. It is a great opportunity to recognise the depth of talent within the industry right across Australia.” Organised by Commercial Radio Australia, on behalf of the radio industry, the national Awards include 33 categories, which cover all areas of radio broadcasting including news, talk, sport, music and entertainment. The ACRAs differ from television’s Logie Awards, in that they are peer judged with judging panels comprised of industry members. Winners are announced in each category across: metropolitan, provincial and country commercial radio stations.