

MEDIA RELEASE

12 March 2018

Entries open for 30th year of Radio Awards

Radio broadcasters from around Australia will celebrate 30 years of the Australian Commercial Radio Awards (ACRAs) at the Melbourne Convention and Exhibition Centre on Saturday, October 20.

Last year's Best On Air Team (AM), 2GB's Continuous Call Team and Best On Air Team (FM); Nova's drive team: Kate, Tim and Marty (Kate Ritchie, Tim Blackwell and Marty Sheargold) have from today until 18 May to enter this year's awards.

The ACRAs are a highlight of the radio industry's yearly calendar with the Awards attracting the industry's stars, personalities and media executives from around Australia.

Chief executive officer of Commercial Radio Australia, Joan Warner said: "The awards are a celebration of talent behind the mic and behind the scenes across the Australian radio industry. Last year's awards attracted outstanding entries making it very difficult for our panel of judges."

Organised by Commercial Radio Australia, on behalf of the radio industry, the national Awards include 33 categories, which cover all areas of radio broadcasting including news, talk, sport, music and entertainment. The ACRAs are peer judged with judging panels comprised of industry members across networks and associated industries. Winners are announced in each category across three areas: metropolitan, provincial and country commercial radio stations.

Other winners from last year included: 3AW's Neil Mitchell winning the prestigious Brian White Award for Radio Journalism, Best Current Affairs presenter won by 2GB's Ben Fordham, Hit Network's Hamish and Andy (Hamish Blake and Andy Lee), won the Best Station Produced Comedy Segment and Best Station Promotion, Smallzy (Kent Small) host of Nova's Smallzy's Surgery was awarded the ACRA for Best Music or Entertainment Presenter and 2GB sports presenter, Erin Molan won the Best Newcomer On-Air award.

Last year's ACRAs were held in Melbourne and hosted by Chris Taylor and Andrew Hansen and more than 1000 people attended. The announcement of this year's host, presenters and entertainment will follow in the coming months.

A highlight of the awards each year is the Hall of Fame, which acknowledges a lifelong commitment to the Australian radio industry. Last year's inductees were WSFM Breakfast co-host Amanda Keller and 2GB's Ray Hadley. Previous inductees have included; Nova Entertainment CEO, Cathy O'Connor Jeremy Cordeaux Peter Harvie, Derryn Hinch, Neil Mitchell, John Laws, Tony Pilkington, Graham Mott, Frank Hyde, Rod Muir, Bob Rogers, Paul Thompson and Kevin Blyton. Hall of Fame recipients are nominated by industry colleagues and decided by an industry wide senior executive panel.

Entries for this year's Awards close on 18 May 2018.

Information on how to enter the awards, categories and conditions of entry can be found at the website: http://www.acras.com.au/

Commercial Radio Australia Twitter: @ComRadioAU Facebook:facebook.com/commercialradioaustralia

Instagram: instagram.com/comradioau #acras2018

Media contact: Melissa Fleming. Ph: 0417 499 529 & Judy Shaw - 0418 415 965