



11 March 2019

Entries Open for Australian Commercial Radio Awards to be held in Brisbane

Entries open today for the 31st annual Australian Commercial Radio Awards (ACRAs) to be held in Brisbane at the Royal International Convention Centre on October 19.

Last held in Brisbane in 2013, the annual awards have grown in stature each year. Entries open on the eve of the release of the first radio survey results for 2019.

Last year's ACRA's Best On-Air Team (Metro AM), was won by the 2GB Continuous Call Team (Ray Hadley, Bob Fulton, Darryl Brohman, Erin Molan, Mark Riddell, Chris Warren & Mark Levy) and KIIS 1065's The Kyle and Jackie O Show, won the Best On-Air Team (Metro FM) category.

The ACRAs are a highlight of the radio industry's yearly calendar with the Awards attracting the industry's stars, personalities and media executives from around Australia.

Chief executive officer of Commercial Radio Australia, Joan Warner said: "This year's ACRAs is set to be an exciting night celebrating radio talent from across Australia both on and off air."

Organised by Commercial Radio Australia, on behalf of the radio industry, the national Awards include 39 categories, which cover all areas of radio broadcasting including news, talk, sport, music and entertainment.

The ACRAs judging is a two level peer judging process. Firstly, state-based peer judging is undertaken by a panel in each state comprised of senior radio industry members across networks to determine finalists, with the second stage of judging taking place at national level to determine the winners. In addition, around half of the award categories are judged by specialist judging panels. For example categories such as best marketing campaign, best ad, best sales achievement, best music director are judged by the specialist panels. Winners are announced in each category across three areas: metropolitan, provincial and country commercial radio stations.

A feature of last year's awards was the introduction of three new podcast categories. Other winners from last year included Nova's Kate Ritchie (Best Entertainment Presenter), 2GB's Ben Fordham, (Best Talk Presenter & Brian White Award for Radio Journalism), Best Current Affairs presenter was won by 3AW's Neil Mitchell and 2DayFM's Grant Denyer won Best Newcomer On Air.

A highlight of the awards each year is the Hall of Fame, which acknowledges a lifelong commitment to the Australian radio industry. Last year's inductee was Southern Cross Austero's Lee Simon,. Previous inductees have included; WSFM Breakfast co-host Amanda Keller and 2GB's Ray Hadley, Nova Entertainment CEO, Cathy O'Connor Jeremy Cordeaux Peter Harvie, Derryn Hinch, Neil Mitchell, John Laws, Tony Pilkington, Graham Mott, Frank Hyde, Rod Muir, Bob Rogers, Paul Thompson and Kevin Blyton. Hall of Fame recipients are nominated by industry colleagues and decided by an industry wide senior executive panel.

Entries for this year's Awards close on 17 May 2019.

Information on how to enter the awards, categories and conditions of entry can be found at the website: <u>http://www.acras.com.au/</u>

Commercial Radio Australia Twitter: @ComRadioAU Facebook:facebook.com/commercialradioaustralia Instagram: instagram.com/comradioau #acras2019

Media contact: Melissa Fleming. Ph: 0417 499 529 & Judy Shaw – 0418 415 965