Media Centre

Entries open for Radio AwardsJuly 2016
High profile commercial radio presenters and on-air teams from around Australia will head to Melbourne this year for the 28th annual Australian Commercial Radio Awards (ACRAs).  The awards return to the Melbourne Convention and Exhibition Centre on Saturday, October 8 and entries open today (14 March).
Last year’s Best On Air Team (AM), 3AW breakfast presenters; Ross Stevenson and John Burns (four time winners) and Best On Air Team (FM); Kyle Sandilands and Jackie Henderson, KIIS 1065 (five time winners) have until 20 May to enter this year’s awards.  
The ACRAs are a highlight of the radio industry’s yearly calendar with the Awards attracting the industry’s stars, personalities and media executives from around Australia.
Chief executive officer of Commercial Radio Australia, Joan Warner said the Awards were highly competitive and the event itself increased in popularity every year.  “There is a wealth of talent on commercial radio across the country and we look forward to Melbourne hosting an outstanding event,” Ms Warner said.
Organised by Commercial Radio Australia, on behalf of the radio industry, the national Awards include 33 categories, which cover all areas of radio broadcasting including news, talk, sport, music and entertainment. The ACRAs are peer judged with judging panels comprised of industry members across networks and associated industries. Winners are announced in each category across three areas: metropolitan, provincial and country commercial radio stations.
Winners from last year’s Awards also included: Best Current Affairs Presenter, 3AW’s Neil Mitchell and Best Talk Presenter, 2GB’s Ben Fordham.  Radio’s Best Newcomer on air was won by Triple M Sydney’s Paul Gallen. 
Last year’s ACRAs were held on the Gold Coast and hosted by Stephen Curry and more than 1000 people attended. The announcement of this year’s host, presenters and entertainment will follow in the coming months. 
Ms Warner said a feature of the Awards is the Hall of Fame, which acknowledges a lifelong commitment to the Australian radio industry. Last year’s inductee was Adelaide based radio veteran, Jeremy Cordeaux.  Previous inductees have included Peter Harvie, Derryn Hinch, Neil Mitchell, John Laws, Tony Pilkington, Graham Mott, Frank Hyde, Rod Muir, Bob Rogers, Paul Thompson and Kevin Blyton. Hall of Fame recipients are nominated by industry colleagues and decided by an industry wide senior executive panel. 
Entries for this year’s Awards close on 20 May 2016.
Information about entering the Awards, categories and conditions of entry can be found at the website:

Commercial Radio Australia Twitter: @ComRadioAU
Instagram: #acras2016
Media contact: Melissa Fleming. Ph: 0417 499 529