Media Centre

Merrick Watts to co-host Radio Awards with Sharon OsbourneOctober 2012

Triple M Network’s national radio host Merrick Watts is to co-host this year’s Australian Commercial Radio Awards (ACRAs) with special international guest, Sharon Osbourne.

The well-known comedian, radio host and television presenter said he was honoured to be co-hosting with such an internationally well-known personality. “I was thrilled to be asked to co-host the Awards. I am really looking forward to meeting Sharon in person and explaining to her what a bogan is. It’s best she knows what she’ll be working with.”

Well recognised as a leading performer in comedy, acting and presenting, Watts presents the weekday drive program, Merrick & The Highway Patrol with Rachel Corbett and Jules Schiller on Triple M’s national metropolitan and regional radio network. After more than 10 years on Australian breakfast radio he is now enjoying starting work at a more civilised hour and spending mornings with his wife, Georgie, son Wolfe and daughter Kinga.

Chief executive officer of Commercial Radio Australia, Joan Warner said, “Merrick is a highly skilled presenter and comedian and will be a terrific co-host with Sharon Osbourne.”

The 24th annual ACRAs, to be held at the Sydney Convention and Exhibition Centre, Darling Harbour on October 13 is a highlight of the radio industry’s yearly calendar, attracting radio personalities and stars from around Australia.

Additional presenters announced today include Nova’s breakfast team, Fitzy and Wippa (Ryan Fitzgerald and Michael Wipfli), WSFM breakfast team, Jonesy & Amanda, (Brendan Jones & Amanda Keller), 2UE drive presenter, Paul Murray, Nova presenters, Kate Langbroek and Tim Blackwell, Southern Cross Austereo, Radar presenters, Ella Hooper & Byron Cooke and Mix 106.5 Love God, Richard Mercer.

Entertainment on the night will include Guy Sebastian, The Veronicas, Timomatic, Commercial Radio Australia country scholarship winner, BayLou, plus a performance by the winner of First Break, the commercial radio industry and Mushroom Group's new emerging talent initiative.

Organised by Commercial Radio Australia, on behalf of the radio industry, the ACRAs include 33 categories, which cover all areas of radio broadcasting including news, talk, sport, music and entertainment. The Awards are peer judged with multilevel judging for the majority of categories by panels comprised of industry members well as specialist judging panels for specific awards, such as the Brain White Award. Winners are announced across three sections: metropolitan, provincial and country.

In addition to co-hosting the Awards Sharon Osbourne will be the keynote speaker at the National Radio Conference on 12 October, also at the Sydney Convention and Exhibition Centre.