Media Centre

Regional radio advocate Kevin Blyton inducted into Hall of FameOctober 2013

One of Australia’s most respected radio owners and a gentleman of the industry, Kevin Blyton, has been inducted into the Commercial Radio Hall of Fame at the 2013 Australian Commercial Radio Awards.

Kevin was honoured at a gala ceremony attended by over 1200 of his peers, at the Royal International Convention Centre in Brisbane. The accolade recognises outstanding lifetime achievement & contribution to the industry.

Kevin began his involvement in commercial radio 35 years ago as an announcer at 2XL in Cooma. He made the switch to ownership at the very young age of 19, acquiring 2XL. He went on to grow a network of regional stations which, at times, spread as far as Tasmania and New Zealand.

Stations that are part of Kevin Blyton’s Capital Radio Network, some of which are co-owned in partnership by Grant Broadcasters, are renowned for their strong, local content. They include: 6iX Perth, 2CC Canberra, 2CA Canberra, Hot Country FM Canberra, Snow FM Snowy Mountains, 2XL Cooma, Hot Country Snowy Mountains, Eagle FM Southern Tablelands, 2GN Goulburn and Hot Country Goulburn, as well as digital stations MY Digital Perth, Hot Country Digital Perth, X Digital Perth, MY Digital Canberra and Hot Country Digital Canberra.

Having served on the Commercial Radio Australia Board of Directors since 1999, Kevin is a strong voice for regional radio and an advocate of the rights of regional broadcasters to a digital broadcast future.

In addition to his commercial radio business interests, he is heavily involved in the tourism industry in the Snowy Mountains region of New South Wales, owning Charlotte Pass Resort, Snowy Mountains Airport in Cooma, the Kosciusko Chalet Hotel as well as local transportation services & cinemas.

Industry leaders honoured Mr Blyton during the ceremony, including Bathurst Broadcasters’ Ron Camplin, Southern Cross Austereo’s Rhys Holleran and Alison O’Neill of Grant Broadcasters.

Commercial Radio Australia chief executive officer, Joan Warner, said: “Kevin Blyton is a passionate supporter of radio and, in particular, regional radio. Kevin has always taken a measured, informed and strategic approach to industry issues, which has greatly contributed to the industry body’s cohesion and success over many years.”

The Hall of Fame recipients are nominated by industry peers and are selected by a high level judging committee. Previous inductees include last year’s Graham Mott, Tony Pilkington, Derryn Hinch, John Laws, Bob Rogers, Gary O’Callaghan, Paul Thompson, Bob Francis, Rod Muir and the late Frank Hyde.